11th U.S. Chief Engraver: Elizabeth Jones

Posted by Derek Sawchenko on

Elizabeth Jones was the 11th Chief Engraver of the United States Mint. She was the only woman to hold the prestigious position; she served from 1980 to 1990. During her time as Chief Engraver, Jones designed the American Silver Eagles, American Gold Eagles, 1983 Los Angeles Olympics Discus Thrower Silver Dollar, 988-W Seoul Summer Olympics Gold Five Dollar, 1981 Ronald Reagan Presidential Medal, and many more. Jones signed labels for the the Numismatic Guarantee Corporation, also known as NGC. These signature labels are of high value to numismatic coin collectors. Jones was the last Chief Engraver to be appointed by the U.S. President and approved by Congress. 

Share this post

← Older Post Newer Post →

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published.